Recharge by Battery Materials Review
Recharge Sep 21 (China/Chip shortage/EV ownership models/Lithium S&D)

Recharge Sep 21 (China/Chip shortage/EV ownership models/Lithium S&D)

September 17, 2021

September's edition of Recharge contains the usual news recap from Matt Fernley and Cormac O'Laoire, this month discussing EV and battery developments in China, the impact of the chip shortage on Q4 EV sales, ownership models of the future for EVs and the supply and demand of lithium and its impact on pricing.

Recharge Aug 21 (Lithium prices, M&A, China, Sodium-ion, OEMs, Canada Nickel)

Recharge Aug 21 (Lithium prices, M&A, China, Sodium-ion, OEMs, Canada Nickel)

August 9, 2021

August's edition of Recharge contains the usual news recap from Matt Fernley and Cormac O'Laoire, focusing on CATL's new sodium-ion battery, the run up in lithium prices and their impact on the battery industry, the emergence of M&A in battery raw materials and its implications and a recap on China.

This month's interview is with Mark Selby, CEO of TSXV-listed Canada Nickel (TSXV:CNC). We discuss the Crawford project PEA, M&A in the nickel industry and the potential for zero carbon nickel.

We are grateful to this episode's sponsor, ICC Sino, an essential source of lithium battery market research.

Recharge June 21 (Lithium, Ford, M&A, Resource nationalism, Altech Chems)

Recharge June 21 (Lithium, Ford, M&A, Resource nationalism, Altech Chems)

June 15, 2021

In June's edition of Recharge there's the usual update on all the previous month's news from Matt Fernley and Cormac O'Laoire, which includes discussion on the lithium market, an update on Ford's EV and battery strategy as well as thoughts on M&A and resource nationalism in the sector.

This month's interview is with Iggy Tan, MD of ASX-listed Altech Chemicals (ASX:ATC). We discuss HPA demand growth in lithium-ion batteries HPA (High Purity Alumina) is rapidly becoming essential for use in the development of high density lithium-ion batteries and Iggy introduces the industry and his company's development plans.

We are grateful to this episode's sponsor, ICC Sino, an essential source of lithium battery market research.

Recharge May 21 (China, LFP, cathodes, SpodCon, McKinsey)

Recharge May 21 (China, LFP, cathodes, SpodCon, McKinsey)

May 20, 2021

In May's edition of Recharge there's the usual update on all the previous month's news from Matt Fernley and Cormac O'Laoire, which includes an update on China, discussions on LFP vs Ternary batteries, cathode capacity additions and Hard Rock prices and outlook.

This month's interview is with Ken Hoffman from McKinsey's Basic Materials Institute, who talks in more detail about the fascinating tear-down report  on a number of batteries recently released by his team and gives some insight about their thoughts on future strategy in batteries and battery raw materials. 

Enjoy our podcasts? Check out our free Investor's Guide to Battery Materials series.

Recharge April 21 (China, VW Power Day, LFP, EV sales, Rodney Hooper)

Recharge April 21 (China, VW Power Day, LFP, EV sales, Rodney Hooper)

April 20, 2021

In this month's Recharge, co-hosts Matt Fernley from Battery Materials Review and Cormac O'Laoire discuss all the news in the world of EVs, batteries and battery materials over the past month. This month's interview is with Rodney Hooper from RK equity, a long-time expert on lithium and co-host of the Lithium-ion Rocks podcast and the Rock Stock channel.

Recharge - Mar 2021 (China, Nickel, LGC/SKI, Medallion Resources)

Recharge - Mar 2021 (China, Nickel, LGC/SKI, Medallion Resources)

March 16, 2021

March's edition of Recharge, co-hosted by Matt Fernley from Battery Materials Review with Cormac O'Laoire from Electrios Energy, discusses all the key newsflow from February, including an update on developments in China, the uptick in materials capital raisings, the Tsingshan nickel developments, the situation between SK Innovation and LG Chemical in the US, and cathode capacity additions.

This month's interview is with Mark Saxon, CEO of Medallion Resources (TSXV:MDL) who talks about supply and demand for critical rare earths as well as his company's revolutionary technology for extracting rare earths from mineral sands.

Enjoy our podcasts? Why not check out our Investor's Guide to Battery Materials series?

Recharge - Feb 2021(China, REE, GM, Pallinghurst Group)

Recharge - Feb 2021(China, REE, GM, Pallinghurst Group)

February 15, 2021

February's edition of Recharge, co-hosted by Matt Fernley from Battery Materials Review with Cormac O'Laoire from Electrios Energy, discusses all the key newsflow from January, including China's REE exports hitting a 5-year low, China EV and battery developments (CATL, BYD, NIO), the uptick in equity raisings in battery materials and the GM rebrand.

This month's interview is with Chris Shepherd, Partner and Managing Director of The Pallinghurst Group [30.22], who discusses his company's strategy as a key investor in Battery Materials, both in terms of what they're looking for in a new investment and what attracted them to their existing investments in Nouveau Monde Graphite (TSXV:NOU) and Nemaska Lithium.

Enjoy our podcasts? Why not check out our Investor's Guide to Battery Materials series?

Recharge - January 2021

Recharge - January 2021

January 13, 2021

It's a New Year and a new format for Recharge in our January 2021 edition. I'm very happy to welcome guest host Cormac O'Laoire, MD of Electrios Energy. Cormac has over 10 years of experience in the battery industry and has been specialising in the Chinese battery industry for the last 7 years. He brings some fascinating perspectives to our discussion of December's key developments.

This month's interview is with Stephen Biggins, MD of Core Lithium (ASX:CXO) [30:32] who gives some interesting detail on his company's Finniss project, which is shaping up to be the next cab off the rank in Australia's hard rock lithium sector.

Recharge - November 2020

Recharge - November 2020

November 13, 2020

November 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review discusses how localisation of supply chains can increase the sustainability of battery production. We highlight the key projects which could make up future localised supply chains for both Europe and North America, and also discuss some of the key factors in battery materials production which can impact greenhouse gas emissions.

We also include our usual recap of all the key news flow in global batteries and raw materials markets, as well as analysis of key developments.

Our interview this month is with Ying Lu, a senior analyst at Roskill who specialises in nickel and nickel sulphate for the battery industry. She provides some fascinating insights into the emerging supply/demand gap in battery grade nickel sulphate and the various attempts to fill it.

Recharge - October 2020

Recharge - October 2020

October 13, 2020

October 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review discusses our lead article's view that under-investment in battery raw materials is now the biggest danger to the electric vehicle event. Shortage of raw materials is likely to lead to higher material prices and higher material prices to higher battery prices, which could make electric vehicles uneconomic.

We also include our usual recap of all the key news flow in global batteries and raw materials markets, as well as analysis of key developments.

Our interview this month is with Marco Romero, CEO of Euro Manganese (TSXV/ASX:EMN). High purity manganese came out as one of the big winners of the Tesla Battery Day and Marco highlights why the industry is so misunderstood and why he believes his company's project is so important.

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App