Recharge by Battery Materials Review
Recharge - January 2021

Recharge - January 2021

January 13, 2021

It's a New Year and a new format for Recharge in our January 2021 edition. I'm very happy to welcome guest host Cormac O'Laoire, MD of Electrios Energy. Cormac has over 10 years of experience in the battery industry and has been specialising in the Chinese battery industry for the last 7 years. He brings some fascinating perspectives to our discussion of December's key developments.

This month's interview is with Stephen Biggins, MD of Core Lithium (ASX:CXO) [30:32] who gives some interesting detail on his company's Finniss project, which is shaping up to be the next cab off the rank in Australia's hard rock lithium sector.

Recharge - November 2020

Recharge - November 2020

November 13, 2020

November 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review discusses how localisation of supply chains can increase the sustainability of battery production. We highlight the key projects which could make up future localised supply chains for both Europe and North America, and also discuss some of the key factors in battery materials production which can impact greenhouse gas emissions.

We also include our usual recap of all the key news flow in global batteries and raw materials markets, as well as analysis of key developments.

Our interview this month is with Ying Lu, a senior analyst at Roskill who specialises in nickel and nickel sulphate for the battery industry. She provides some fascinating insights into the emerging supply/demand gap in battery grade nickel sulphate and the various attempts to fill it.

Recharge - October 2020

Recharge - October 2020

October 13, 2020

October 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review discusses our lead article's view that under-investment in battery raw materials is now the biggest danger to the electric vehicle event. Shortage of raw materials is likely to lead to higher material prices and higher material prices to higher battery prices, which could make electric vehicles uneconomic.

We also include our usual recap of all the key news flow in global batteries and raw materials markets, as well as analysis of key developments.

Our interview this month is with Marco Romero, CEO of Euro Manganese (TSXV/ASX:EMN). High purity manganese came out as one of the big winners of the Tesla Battery Day and Marco highlights why the industry is so misunderstood and why he believes his company's project is so important.

Recharge - September 2020

Recharge - September 2020

September 14, 2020

In September 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review, the Focus article is on the subject of incentive prices in lithium and nickel and we discuss the level that prices need to reach before it will be economic for producers to invest in new capacity.

We also include our usual recap of all the key news flow in global batteries and raw materials markets, as well as analysis of key developments.

Our interview this month is with Matt Harper of AIM-listed Invinity Energy Systems (AIM:IES), a vanadium redox flow battery (VRFB) producer. We discuss some of the key challenges and opportunities in the VRFB market and talk in detail about the outlook for Invinity.

Recharge - July 2020

Recharge - July 2020

July 14, 2020

In July 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review we discuss this month's focus topic from the Review which is the impact on our materials demand forecasts of an increase in our EV sales forecasts. Basically our more bullish EV sales forecasts bring forward the expected supply/demand gap from the mid-2020s to the early-2020s. This means that it's now more urgent than ever for capital to be invested in the battery raw materials sector.

We also have the usual recap of upstream and downstream news, exploration, financing, trade and equity market analysis.

Our interview this month is with John Downie, Managing Director of ASX-listed Pure Minerals (ASX:PM1). Pure Minerals is looking to develop a Ni/Co refinery to process laterite nickel ore without going down the HPAL route, utilising a technique piloted in the early-2010s. Given our view that nickel is likely to be one of the most under-supplied battery materials, all methods of expanding production are of interest.

Recharge - June 2020

Recharge - June 2020

June 15, 2020

Welcome to June 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review, in which we discuss all the recent news and developments in the batteries, end markets and battery materials sectors.

Our Focus topics this month are on (1) EU Green stimulus which I believe will be enormously positive for battery raw materials. European EV sales are set to surprise on the upside this year which will have substantial knock-on impacts on battery demand and hence raw materials demand for batteries. Given that inventories of many products are low, any increase in shipments has the potential to clear them out rapidly, leading to a significant pop in prices; and (2) The importance of Piedmont Lithium’s PFS into a merchant spodumene concentrate/lithium hydroxide converter and what its implications are for hard rock developers around the Atlantic Basin.

Recharge - May 2020

Recharge - May 2020

May 13, 2020

Welcome to May 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review.

We start with a recap of all the key news items for April in batteries and battery materials, give a little more detail on our Focus article and analyse some of the key data points. Our Focus article in this month's Review is on the topic of Hydrogen. We discuss whether Hydrogen and Batteries should be seen as mutually exclusive or as complementary technologies.

Our interview this month is with with Jean-Louis Le Mée, CIO of Westbeck Capital's Energy Opportunities Fund and co-CIO of Westbeck's Volta Fund. Jean-Louis' fund is one of the best-performing energy funds over the past few years and, in a fascinating and far-reaching interview, he discusses the near-term and longer-term outlook for oil prices and the likely impacts of his oil outlook on demand for electric vehicles and batteries. 

Recharge - April 2020

Recharge - April 2020

April 16, 2020

Welcome to April 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review.

We start with a recap of all the key news items for the month in batteries and battery materials, give a little more detail on our Focus articles and analyse some of the key data points. Our Focus articles in this month's Review are on the Impacts and Opportunities of the Covid pandemic for the battery industry; and also on what battery materials stocks are best to invest in for a recovery

Our interview this month is with Ken Brinsden, Managing Director of ASX-listed hard rock lithium miner Pilbara Minerals (ASX:PLS) [08:19]. In a far-reaching interview Ken talks about his company's progress at Pilgangoora, the effects of Covid-19 on the lithium industry, and what differentiates Pilbara Minerals from many other stocks out there.

Recharge - March 2020

Recharge - March 2020

March 11, 2020

Welcome to March 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review.

This month's edition is a focus on Battery Recycling, which is a topic of great importance in the sector but one that's not well understood.

Before that we recap all the key news items for the month in batteries and battery materials, give a little more detail on our Focus articles and analyse some of the key data points.

We have two interviews on the Recycling theme:

Circular Energy Storage [07:16]: Director Hans Eric Melin shares his thoughts on the efficacy of battery recycling, how much of it is actually happening, how much it can contribute in terms of raw materials supply and how environmentally friendly it is.

Lithium Australia (ASX:LIT) [34:44]: MD Adrian Griffin talks about his company's Envirostream subsidiary which, when it IPOs later this year, will be the world's first pure player battery recycling stock.

www.batterymaterialsreview.com

Recharge - February 2020

Recharge - February 2020

February 14, 2020

Welcome to February 2020's edition of Recharge by Battery Materials Review, in which we discuss all the recent news and developments in the batteries, end markets and battery materials sectors.

Our Focus topics this month are on Graphite, which we still believe have significant potential, despite not stellar performance in 2019; and the CoronaVirus. We are particularly concerned that the market is understating the impact that the virus is having on the battery industry in China, given that China is 90-100% of processing capacity in a number of segments. We see potential for significant supply chain disruption which is not priced into equities currently.

This is a shame because two key datapoints indicated we may have turned the corner in Q4/19; EV sales rose in December, and the WA spodumene concentrate shipment/inventory ratio troughed in Q3/19. The recovery may now be pushed out further because of the virus.

There are no interviews this month because of travel commitments, but we'll have some next month.

www.batterymaterialsreview.com 

Play this podcast on Podbean App